A Walk in the Park

Day 54
3 miles by bus/3 miles on foot

I lived in New York City for three wonderful years. First, I lived in a studio apartment with my love and my two dogs in Manhattan, then we decided to live a bit more simply and moved across the Hudson to a boat moored at Liberty Landing State Park in Jersey City. Some days, I am overwhelmed with a nostalgia for that place – today was one of those days. I blame this video (sorry, embed wasn’t working, you’ll have to click):

http://player.vimeo.com/video/31159101?portrait=0&color=ff9933

But I have figured out a way out of the nostalgia and back into embracing where I am right now and that’s to do the things I loved to do there … here!

I kicked off the mission over my lunch break by zipping up my winter boots and hitting the pavement, hard, like I was late for a very important date. I set my course for a coffee shop I’d never been to on the other side of the neighborhood. They were a diverse and friendly group at Curious Coffee Co., and right away I was steered toward the best veggie muffaletta sandwich I have ever eaten. Power walk and incredible hole-in-the-wall deli sandwich. Check, check.

Then, after work, I decided to walk the three miles rather than take the bus home. I dawdle, talk on the phone and take pictures, so this took me just shy of an hour, but it was a gorgeous walk through old neighborhoods and then City Park. In typical Denver fashion (I really shouldn’t let the Denver Weather cat out of the bag to this national audience), less than 24-hours after the blinding blizzard, I was walking home under a blue sky, shimmering icicles and snow-dusted fall leaves on cleared paths (well, except for the last stretch of the park, which was a muddy quagmire – but I had boots!). And I had New York pals on the other end of the line. Leisurely stroll through neighborhoods and parks and talking to NY friends. Check, check.

Then I went out to dinner at Tables, a cozy neighborhood restaurant with a shabby-chic vintage table collection. They served The. Best. Bread. I’ve had in a long time (Grateful Bread’s Whole Wheat Sourdough – holy shit that was good!), veggies on the menu that were grown down the block and duck confit bread pudding as a side. Check-plus!

Between the powerwalking, park stroll and gourmet cuisine, I stopped feeling so nostalgic for the bygone days. All’s well that ends well.

P.S. I still haven’t started my novel (ugh, “my novel,” who am I?!), but I have the idea, and that’s a start.

Tagged , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “A Walk in the Park

  1. Shannon says:

    Missed you last night at the Dumbledore’s. I did have a yesvel idea for you: the 7th billion earthling as narrator! Yes!

  2. kate says:

    I’ve always admired your ability to create positive circumstances from otherwise challenging events!

    Some of my most favorite memories from living in Denver revolve simply around being outdoors and walking through that glowing white snow, inhaling the crisp, sharp air, and being completely surrounded by the most amazing blue sky I have ever seen. It is an incredible and magical place…truly unlike any other.

    As for your novel, did you know that November is the official Novel Writing Month?!!! I kid you not. check this out: http://www.nanowrimo.org/en. A while ago I started one myself…now EIGHT years later, I am only about 60 pages in…I know it’s in me though, and one of these days it will find its way to completion. Here’s to the one living within you…you can do it!!!

  3. erin says:

    You shine brilliant like the sun, Shannon-ne!

  4. erin says:

    I’m all up in the NaNoWriMo’s hizzy! 🙂

Comment

