Coldheart’s freeze machine

Day 89
7 miles

Can’t say I love biking in the ice. Biking home yesterday in the dark, for example, was pretty tricky — I couldn’t decipher what was dry and salty v. what was straight ice. It made for some slow ridin’. And the sidestreets, even today, are just sheets of ice. That said, I’m not cold, just extra cautious.

I’ve got a minor malfunction: broken fender. I’m thinking this is an opportunity to get those sweet bamboo fenders I’ve been coveting. Any other awesome fender ideas out there?

Tagged , ,

9 thoughts on “Coldheart’s freeze machine

  1. Aaron Martin says:

    From what I have heard the best fenders are Velo Orange.

    http://store.velo-orange.com/index.php/accessories/fenders/fender-sets.html

    I bought a pair and they are amazing. They look great too. The ones I got have very good coverage on the front so I dont’ need a mud flap.

    Since they are metal they will last forever. The bamboo fenders are stylish but provide no side coverage so you can end up getting alot of spillage from the sides.

    Though in CO you don’t need as full coverage fenders becuase it dosn’t rain that much I would worry that snow and ice might build up inside the fenders and make riding tough…so maybe having the sides open is better. Or at least get as big of fenders as you can.

    On a side note if I were you I would totally get studded tires, not because you would need them all the time but because where else can you say “I got studded tires for my bike”. Out here there is like 1 or 2 days where they might be needed usually those days I just don’t bike.

  2. Bill Spriggs says:

    Just remember Erin, only about ten more days and the days begin to get longer. I just started following you. You’re a braver soul than I in this cold. Keep pumping. Bill

  3. JonP says:

    Hi Erin!

    Look up Velo-Orange. They have some really, really nice aluminum and stainless steel fenders.

    I used to go through plastic ones about once a year, always breaking them somehow. I have had the VO ones 2 years with no problems, save for an initial installation error by me. (Tip: Make judicious use of threadlock when installing.)

  4. Jessica says:

    Ride safe! I’m lucky I don’t have to deal with riding on ice. You’re very brave : ) Which fender broke? Did it just crack on it’s own? Just wondering what I have to prepare for ; ) Stay warm!

  5. Jessica says:

    Bamboo fenders sound cool. Here’s another fender that might look good on the Black Sheep : )
    http://store.velo-orange.com/index.php/accessories/fenders/vo-45mm-hammered-polished-fenders-700c.html

  6. erin says:

    I especially like the part about how I should get studded snow tires just for the fun of it. As always, thanks for the excellent tips, Aaron.

  7. erin says:

    I like this fact. Thanks Bill!

  8. erin says:

    Hi Jon! Velo-Orange, sold!

  9. erin says:

    It was the back fender, and I don’t really know what happened. Rock, maybe? Or some other flying detritus. I’ve been riding with it broken with no major malfunctions, but I can’t wait for the Velo-Swaps to arrive. Good tip! Ride on, Jessica!

Comment

