Biking through a blahzzard

Day 100
10 miles

[Technical difficulties…Thought this had transmitted last night.]

After another weekend spent riding along in a car, I was so happy to get back on the bike today. Not even a snow forecast could keep me down. Sure enough, the snow came, and earlier than expected. When I went out at lunch, I thought ‘Brrrrrr.’ And when I got offered a ride home, I pondered it.

But in the end, I rode the bike, with no regrets. It took me about 20 minutes to cover 10 minutes of ground to meet a friend on Broadway, but I joined a pack of four cyclists cruising in solidarity down Sherman together. Nice how inclement weather gets us to all stop racing and stick to safety in numbers instead.

Coming home from Broadway, it took about 40 minutes to cover 25 minutes, but it had stopped snowing by then. I sought out secondary routes instead of backroads. When I was crossing Speer on Downing, I thought maybe I’d made a mistake. But once the cars (and the visions of me splayed and run over) passed, it was the place to be.

So yeah, feeling pretty righteous about stepping up and stepping out in the wee snowstorm there. Hope y’all fared as well.

Tagged , , , , , ,

Comment

